
SUBCHAPTER 05D – PYROTECHNICS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

11 NCAC 05D .0101 DEFINITIONS 

11 NCAC 05D .0102 DISPLAY OPERATOR'S IDENTIFICATION BADGES 

11 NCAC 05D .0103 DISPLAY OPERATOR'S PERMIT 

11 NCAC 05D .0104 ASSISTANT DISPLAY OPERATOR'S PERMIT 

11 NCAC 05D .0105 ASSISTANT DISPLAY OPERATOR'S CERTIFICATION 

11 NCAC 05D .0106 APPLICATION FOR PERMIT  

11 NCAC 05D .0107 EXAMINATION 

11 NCAC 05D .0108 APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCITY 

11 NCAC 05D .0109 PERMIT RENEWAL 

11 NCAC 05D .0110 FEES 

11 NCAC 05D .0111 NOTIFICATION TO OSFM 

11 NCAC 05D .0112 REPLACEMENT AND DUPLICATE PERMIT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 58-82A-3 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Expired Eff. February 1, 2019 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A. 

 

11 NCAC 05D .0113 REPORT OF THEFT OR LOSS OF PYROTECHNICS 

(a)  A permittee shall report the theft or loss of pyrotechnics to the county sheriff or city police, to ATF and to 

OSFM, by telephone, within eight hours after the permittee discovers the theft or loss. OSFM may be reached at 

919-661-5880 during normal working hours and at the North Carolina Highway Patrol dispatch number, 919-733-

3861, outside normal working hours. 

(b)  Within 24 hours after discovery of the loss or theft, the permittee shall provide OSFM written notice that 

includes a description of the pyrotechnics, including the manufacturer, brand name, any manufacturer marking and 

quantity, and a description of the circumstances surrounding the theft or loss. The written notice shall also name the 

law enforcement agencies contacted by the permittee under Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 05D .0114 REPORT OF INJURY OR PROPERTY DAMAGE 

(a)  A permittee shall notify OSFM within 24 hours after any of the following involving pyrotechnics: 

(1) A fire causing property damage in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000) to an automobile or ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) to real property; 

(2) An injury to any person caused by the display resulting in hospitalization; or 

(3) Damage to property in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000), not related to fire. 

(b)  OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during normal working hours and at the North Carolina Highway Patrol 

dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal working hours. 

(c)  The permittee shall submit a written report to OSFM within three days after a pyrotechnics display conducted by 

the permittee if any of the following occurred: 

(1) Any of the incidents identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; or 

(2) Whenever a defective pyrotechnic product or equipment resulting in any amount of injury or 

damage occurs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 05D .0115 INSPECTIONS 



(a)  A permittee shall make any records required under Article 54 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes and Article 

82A of Chapter 58 of the General Statutes available to authorized representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire 

code official. 

(b)  A permittee shall allow the display site, storage facility, or delivery point to be inspected at all times by 

authorized representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire code official. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 

 

 


